WinDbg Preview download and Install without MS Store

Vab
2 min readDec 18, 2020

--

Recently I was trying to install WinDbg preview on my Laptop. When I opened MS store I realized that it is blocked by security settings. Now I was in dilemma, should I try to bypass the security or is there a way WinDbg Preview can be installed without accessing MS store. So instead of directly installing it on my laptop I started my Virtual Box windows 2019 VM.

Next after lot of googling I found the URL that can be used for directly downloading the file. To download the file, open PowerShell and execute

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32>Invoke-WebRequest ‘paste url here’ -OutFile “C:\debug\windbg.appx”

Once file is downloaded, install the package by executing following command in Powershell

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> Add-AppxPackage -Path C:\debug\windbg.appx

Wait for few minutes and the you can launch WinDbg Preview by simply typing WinDbg in search

How to get the URL?

  1. Open https://store.rg-adguard.net/
  2. Open MS store website and search for Windbg

3. Copy url and paste it in https://store.rg-adguard.net/ and you will get the link to download appx file

--

--